JacobCrofts checking in

• I'm JacobCrofts. I used to be an admin on MCPvP, which closed in 2015. I was active on Mineplex for half a year or so, and remain semi-active on the Spigot forums.

I recently started my first "real life" job in San Francisco writing software for a marketing tech startup, and while my job certainly keeps me busy, I have big plans for my future with Minecraft.

A few months ago, a small group (~50) of volunteers, many of whom are ex-MCPvPers, helped me alpha-test an alternative to the existing Minecraft combat systems. It went really well, so I plan to include this combat system in my upcoming game, Minecraft Kingdoms.

Minecraft Kingdoms won't be out for months, since I'm the only developer working on it and I have (at best) only Saturday/Sunday of each week to make meaningful progress. But when it's here, it will be dope. This MMORPG style game will have:

• A unique combat system which emphasizes strategy and distance-oriented combat like archery and magic over spam-clicking.
    • A political / role-playing system where the ruling party ("kingdom") sets tax policies, enforces its own chat rules, hires players to play specific roles in exchange for in-game currency, and competes with other kingdoms for control over worlds. The details are complicated, but elegant, and will be an enormous amount of fun.
    • Hundreds of custom items including armor, weapons, blocks, enchantments, and more. Much of this is done with a server-side resource pack, so no manual installation is required.
    • Economy-driven gameplay where merchanting alone can make a player very successful. The economy never resets, is completely unregulated, and is managed by a single, global state. That means what you sell in the US server might be purchased by a player in the EU server (I hope to add BR/AU servers as well, but I'm paying out of pocket for everything so this will depend on revenue).